1908–1940 1940–1945 1945–1949 1950–1965 1965–1976 1977–1998 1999–2009

»It was the southern light and the colourfulness of my experiences that so impressed me, as a 15 year old, on trips with my father to Spain, Morocco and the Canary Islands.«
(Exhibition catalogue Leverkusen, 1966, without pagination)

Rupprecht Geiger was born in Munich on January 26, 1908 as the only child of the painter and graphic artist Willi Geiger. Varying places of residence and numerous trips left an imprint on his childhood and youth. In the hopes of setting up a new life in Madrid, Willi Geiger left for Spain with his wife and son for a year and a half. The Geigers toured the heart of the country many times – Toledo, Granada, Seville, Cordoba – and spent 3 months in Tenerife as well as three weeks in Tetuan.

Willi Geiger with his son Rupprecht, Florence, Italy, 1910
Willi Geiger with his son Rupprecht, Florence, Italy, 1910; photo Geiger Archive Munich

During that time, Rupprecht Geiger wrote a diary which was speckled with sketches, pencil drawings and brightly coloured water colours: interiors, views of cities, and landscapes suffused with light were the first evident examples of his lifelong fascination with light and colour.


From his childhood on, his father was Rupprecht’s role model in all his artistic undertakings. Even though Willi Geiger did not take on the role of his teacher, correcting his son’s drawings or watercolors, Rupprecht did acquire through his father’s instrumental intervention wide-ranging technical and art historical knowledge. From early childhood on, painting was his ›natural environment‹.

In 1923 the Geiger family returned to Munich after the attempt at creating a new life in Spain failed. After finishing high school, Rupprecht Geiger began studying architecture from 1926 to 1929 at the Munich Arts College in the architecture faculty led by the neoclassicist Eduard Pfeiffer.

»I was always interested in austere, simple forms and shapes. The motifs in my sketch books were always cubistic windowless buildings, white ones in front of deep blue skies or the sea… He (Eduard Pfeiffer) taught us that simple things, not cluttered things, were needed to attain the greatest effect….I realize that even now after having left architecture for art, I still adhere to this rule. I think this explains the formal severity of my works today.«
(Exhibition catalogue Leverkusen, 1966, without pagination)

He learned from his professor about the stern architectural language of shapes, which developed from buildings of Renaissance times and about the laws of proportion which apply to it. Apart from taking courses in interiors, the students also took part in trips to Paris and Italy where they completed detailed sketches and architecturally gauged drawings. The architectural drawings of an abandoned Tuscan Capuchin monastery near Trevi that he completed with his friend Karl Hirschbold, showed a further striking colour experience. Geiger had dyed the paper dark blue, in the same style as Giotto’s frescos in the cathedral of Assisi. The reduced shapes of the groundplan, section and view of the monastery contrasted strongly with the dark blue background allowing for the paper to unite both the architectural and painting aspects.


After Pfeiffer’s sudden death Geiger undertook his two-year apprenticeship as a mason which at that time was a part of architecture studies. In 1933 Geiger enlarged upon his studies by doing a two-year course in constructional engineering and statics at the State Architectural College in Munich.


After graduating, Geiger worked as a freelance architect with several offices including the office of the Munich architect Oswald Eduard Bieber, until he was drafted in 1940. He married Monika, an architecture student and also the daughter of Oswald Bieber in 1937, with whom he had two sons, Lenz in 1938 and Florian in 1940.

1908–1940 1940–1945 1945–1949 1950–1965 1965–1976 1977–1998 1999–2009

»Auf Reisen mit dem Vater durch Spanien, Marokko und den Kanarischen Inseln hat sich mir damals, 15jährig, das südliche Licht und die Farbenpracht der Erlebnisse tief eingeprägt.«
(Ausst.Kat. Leverkusen 1966, o. S.)

Am 26. Januar 1908 wird Rupprecht Geiger als einziges Kind des Malers und Grafikers Willi Geiger in München geboren. Verschiedene Wohnorte und zahlreiche Reisen prägen seine Kindheit und Jugend. In der Hoffnung, sich eine neue Existenz in Madrid aufbauen zu können, geht Willi Geiger mit Frau und Sohn für eineinhalb Jahre nach Spanien. Die Familie bereist mehrmals das Landesinnere – Toledo, Granada, Sevilla, Cordoba –, verbringt drei Monate auf Teneriffa sowie drei Wochen in Tetuan.

Willi Geiger mit seinem Sohn Rupprecht, Florenz 1910
Willi Geiger mit seinem Sohn Rupprecht, Florenz 1910; Foto: Archiv Geiger, München

Rupprecht Geiger schreibt in jener Zeit Tagebuch und versieht es mit Skizzen, detaillierten Bleistiftzeichnungen und farbenfrohen Aquarellen: Interieurs, Stadtansichten und lichtdurchflutete Landschaften sind die ersten gemalten Zeugnisse, die bereits damals seine lebenslange Faszination für Licht und Farbe belegen.


Sein Vater ist ihm von Kindheit an durch seine künstlerische Tätigkeit ein Vorbild: Obwohl Willi Geiger nicht die Rolle eines Lehrers übernimmt, der Korrekturen in den Zeichnungen und Aquarellen seines Sohnes durchführt, eignet sich Rupprecht Geiger durch dessen Vermittlung weit reichende technische und kunsthistorische Kenntnisse an. Die Malerei bildet also von Anfang an seine ›natürliche Umgebung‹.

1925 kehrt die Familie nach dem Scheitern der neuen Existenzgründung in Spanien nach München zurück. Nach Beendigung der Schulausbildung beginnt Rupprecht Geiger ein Architekturstudium, zunächst von 1926 bis 1929 an der Kunstgewerbeschule München in der Architekturklasse des Neoklassizisten Eduard Pfeiffer.

»Immer schon hat mich die strenge einfache Form interessiert. In Skizzenbüchern sind kubische fensterlose Bauten, weiß vor tiefblauem Himmel oder Meer, die Motive gewesen. … Er [Eduard Pfeiffer] lehrte das Einfache, das nicht Überladene, um damit größte Wirkung zu erzielen. … Heute weiß ich, daß ich mich nach meinem Absprung von der Architektur zur Malerei diesen Gesetzen wieder verpflichtet fühlte. Ich glaube, hier liegt die Erklärung für die formale Strenge meiner heutigen Bilder.«
(Ausst.Kat. Leverkusen 1966, o. S.)

Von seinem Professor lernt er die strenge, aus den Renaissancebauten entwickelte architektonische Formensprache und deren Proportionsgesetze. Neben den Interieur-Studien in der Klasse unternehmen die Studenten unter der Anleitung Pfeiffers Reisen nach Paris und Italien, wo sie Detailskizzen und architektonische Maßaufnahmen von Gebäuden ausführen. Die Architekturzeichnungen eines verlassenen toskanischen Kapuzinerklosters bei Trevi, die er zusammen mit seinem Freund Karl Hirschbold anfertigt, zeugen von einem weiteren markanten Farberlebnis. Geiger hatte das Papier in Anlehnung an Giottos Fresken im Dom von Assisi tiefblau eingefärbt. Vor diesem blauen Hintergrund heben sich die reduzierten Formen von Grundriss, Schnitt und Ansicht farbig ab, so dass die Blätter aufgrund dieser farblichen Akzente architektonische und malerische Aspekte vereinen.


Nach dem plötzlichen Tod Pfeiffers absolviert Geiger zwei Jahre eine für den Architektenberuf damals benötigte, praxisbezogene Lehre als Maurer. Ab 1933 vertieft Rupprecht Geiger seine Studien mit einer zweijährigen Ausbildung (Bautechnik und Statik) an der Staatsbauschule München.


Nach seinem Abschluss arbeitet er als freier Architekt in verschiedenen Architekturbüros, u. a. im Büro des Münchner Architekten Oswald Eduard Bieber, bis zu seiner Einberufung im Jahre 1940. 1937 heiratet er die Architekturstudentin Monika, die Tochter von Oswald Bieber, mit der er zwei Söhne, Lenz 1938 und Florian 1940, bekommt.